Golden Globes 2014: Who Will Win…and Who Should

Amy Tin

Just for fun, here are my predictions for tomorrow night’s Golden Globe awards, presented without comment. Let’s see how many I get right, based almost entirely on speculation. Bonus: my preferences in every category except the ones in which I’ve seen none of the nominees.

Best Picture, Drama: 12 Years a Slave
My pick: 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress, Drama: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
My pick: Cate Blanchett

Best Actor, Drama: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
My pick: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Picture, Comedy/Musical: American Hustle
My pick: Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Actress, Comedy/Musical: Meryl Streep, August: Osage County
My pick: Amy Adams, American Hustle

Best Actor, Comedy/Musical: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
My pick: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Foreign Language Film: Blue is the Warmest Color

Best Original Song: “Let It Go” from Frozen
My pick: “Let It Go” from Frozen

Best Original Score: Hans Zimmer, 12 Years a Slave
My pick: Hans Zimmer, 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
My pick: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
My pick: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

Best Director: David O. Russell, American Hustle
My pick: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity

Best Screenplay: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave
My pick: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best Drama Series: Breaking Bad
My pick: Breaking Bad

Best Actress, Drama Series: Kerry Washington, Scandal
My pick: Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black

Best Actor, Drama Series: Kevin Spacey, House of Cards
My pick: Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad

Best Comedy Series: Girls
My pick: Parks and Recreation

Best Actress, Comedy Series: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
My pick: Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

Best Actor, Comedy Series: Michael J. Fox, The Michael J. Fox Show
My pick: Michael J. Fox, The Michael J. Fox Show

Best Mini-series or Movie: Behind the Candelabra
My pick: Top of the Lake

Best Actress, Mini-seres or Movie: Jessica Lange, American Horror Story: Coven
My pick: Elisabeth Moss, Top of the Lake

Best Actor, Mini-series or Movie: Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra

Best Supporting Actress: Sofia Vergara, Modern Family
My pick: Monica Potter, Parenthood

Best Supporting Actor: Rob Lowe, Behind the Candelabra
My pick: Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad

Leave a Reply

